Dennis Brown Live at Reggae Sunsplash 1987 was released this past week by the Heavy Beat label, and it was well worth the wait.  The official release of this show is long overdue as it is one of his very best live performances.  This is the performance where Dennis stands off-stage reasoning with his bredren, takes a healthy swig from a wine bottle, and jumps onstage to slay the joint.  He is truly the “crown prince of reggae.”

Here are several selections from this historic show.



1. Dennis Brown – Intro
2. Dennis Brown – Halfway Up, Halfway Down
3. Dennis Brown – Love Gotta Hold On Me
4. Dennis Brown – Revolution
5. Dennis Brown – How Can I Leave
6. Dennis Brown – Should I
7. Dennis Brown – Stay At Home
8. Dennis Brown – Cassandra
9. Dennis Brown – The Promised Land
10. Dennis Brown – Whip Them Jah

Also included here is a feature on Dennis Brown written by Penny Reel and published in New Musical Express