Please Note:  Based on recommendation, I have removed the download link for this show. It is a fact that this show is featured on the official release of Talkin’ Blues, however, there is a noticeable difference between the raw audio from the soundboard and the remastered audio on Talkin’ Blues.  Nonetheless, I can’t risk heat coming down on the blog with this in mind.

The Wailers are making their way up and down the California coast when they are asked to play a radio spot for KSAN radio at the Record Plant in Sausalito, CA on October 31, 1973.  They book this gig based on their recent lively performances at The Matrix in San Francisco.  KSAN hyped The Wailers from the start, always spinning their music on the progressive rock station.

The Record Plant was a series of three famous recording studios which were founded by Gary Kellgren and Chris Stone, beginning in New York City in 1968. The next year, Kellgren and Stone opened a second studio in Los Angeles. In 1972, the company expanded again with a third location in Sausalito, California. On October 28, 1972, Kellgren and Stone opened the Northern California location in Sausalito, throwing a Halloween party to celebrate Studio A going on line. Ginger Mews, ex-manager of Wally Heider Studios, was named studio manager of Sausalito Music Factory, doing business as Record Plant, and construction continued on the similarly equipped Studio B with completion expected in February 1973.  The 10,700-square-foot building was a former office suite covered with diagonal redwood siding in an industrial park near Sausalito’s harbor facilities. Kellgren worked with Hidley to design Studio A and Studio B to have the same size and the same “dead” acoustics, and both were fitted with Hidley-designed Westlake monitors.

Record Plant, Sausalito, CA

“Live From The Plant” premiered in 1973 as a live radio showcase for new and existing talent.  It was broadcast on Donahue’s album-oriented rock station KSAN (FM) from time to time over the next two years, primarily on Sunday nights, and it featured various artists such as the Grateful Dead, Jerry Garcia, The Tubes, Peter Frampton, Bob Marley & The Wailers, Pablo Cruise, Rory Gallagher, The Marshall Tucker Band, Jimmy Buffett, Bonnie Raitt, Link Wray, Linda Ronstadt and Fleetwood Mac.

An interesting note about The Record Plant-To satisfy the wishes of Sly Stone, one of the office spaces at the studio was turned into an unusual recording studio dubbed “The Pit”.  The Pit was a 140-square-foot, acoustically dead room that had the engineer’s controls sunk 10 feet into the foundation of the building, this pit was surrounded on all sides by a ground level area intended for the musicians. Its appearance was futuristic, with bright maroon plush carpet on the floors, walls, ceiling, and stairs.  Psychedelic murals and embroidery added to the visual atmosphere.Sly Stone recorded in it from time to time but mostly it remained an unused curiosity—a “white elephant”, according to producer Jimmy Robinson—a room that new arrivals were shown to elicit an “oh wow, what a trip” response.

Another interesting note about the Record Plant Sausalito: Fleetwood Mac recorded the legendary Rumours album here in 1976-1977.

The Record Plant Sausalito closed it’s doors in 2008.

The Wailers, stuck in Las Vegas after Sly and the Family Stone drop them from the tour, and hitchhike to California to make the scheduled appearance on KSAN-FM. They manage to get to San Francisco and make their appearance, being met by an enthusiastic audience. Audiences on the California coast maintained a special affinity for Bob and the Wailers throughout the existence of the band. The KSAN performance comprises a blazing set of songs. The broadcast begins with Bob, Peter, and Joe Higgs performing “Rasta Man Chant” acoustically with just traditional Rastafarian hand drums as accompaniment. They then launch into a series of songs from the Catch A Fire and Burnin’ albums.

I have included the lossless (FLAC) audio files for the show and an article from the Long Beach Independent Press Telegram published on May 4, 1973 which discusses reggae as an emerging force in music.


Set List

1. Intro,
2. Rastaman Chant,
3. Bend Down Low,
4. Slave Driver,
5. You Can’t Blame The Youth,
6. Stop That Train,
7. Burnin’ & Lootin’,
8. Kinky Reggae,
9. Get Up Stand Up,
10. Lively Up Yourself,
11. Walk The Proud Land,
12. Outtro

Bob Marley 1973

© Lee Jaffe

peaceconcert.a copy

© Lee Jaffe

Bob Marley, San Francisco, 1973

© Lee Jaffe

About this photo says Jaffe:

“San Francisco. 1973. We were staying in a motel about a mile from the venue–a club with capacity of about 800, aptly called The Matrix. We were on tour supporting the Burnin’ album. The morning after the gig–which for me until now was the most incredible performance I have been witness to–I rushed out to see if we had a review in the newspaper, The San Francisco Chronicle. I quickly flipped to the entertainment section. The headline said “Wailers Apocalyptic”….I was thrilled. We were a virtually unknown band and I had never seen a performance by band described anyway like that. I rushed to show Bob the ebullient review. He read it methodically then raised his eyes to me–barely smiled. A next step in the struggle. It was time to hit the road..”